The Morra Valley – Storm Clouds Gathering

Lugnano, Morra

The Morra Valley with Lugnano
Watercolour and ink 36cm x 16cm (For Sale)

This time I’ve slightly adapted the series, painting the landscape and not just the hill towns. I was also inspired by Ambrogio Lorenzetti’s painting “The Allegory of Good and Bad Government”, a fresco on the walls of the Palazzo Pubblico in Siena.

Lorenzetti

The Allegory of Good and Bad Government

It was painted in 1338/39 and is probably one of the first large scale landscapes produced. What struck me about the fresco was the navy blue almost black sky he’d painted and although in the photo it looks more pink, it is in fact a deep blue.

Morra Valley drawing

Lungnano Sketch

(Update) having seen the picture in another light I’ve realised it is pink. Not to worry though as this is the exact colour I see when there are heavy, dark storm clouds gathering. So, all is not lost as this illustrates another of the challenges I face when painting.  Plus it looks quite funky, as do storm clouds.

The landscape also features a very stylised hill shapes and basic building shapes, which I also emulated in the work. I liked the simplicity of the elements and think I’ve managed to create a homage to Lorenzetti’s piece. Most of all I like the strange colour combinations.

If you like this then you can buy prints here…….. 🙂

One response to “The Morra Valley – Storm Clouds Gathering

  1. Pingback: One Valley, Twelve Miles, Six Castles, Two Borders | UmbriArt Gallery

Leave a Reply

