Drawing Arms

Black Prince

Black Prince

I’ve always been fascinated by heraldry and coats of arms, so studying stained glass gave me a natural outlet for this interest. Over the years I was lucky enough to recieve a number of commissions on the subject and have always enjoyed researching and designing heraldic devices.

Whilst taking a trip down memory lane the other day I came across these designs, which made me laugh. They were obviously done pre-Photoshop as they were properly “cut & pasted”. A time when glue got everywhere and pieces of magazine being found days afterwards.

IMG_0007IMG_0008

 

 

 

 

 

 

These days there are online programs for making photocollage but I remembered the fun of searching through magazines for appropriate shapes and colours, only finishing when I’d ran out of publications to dissect.  Some days is just fun to get back to basics and enjoy making things for no other reason than to play.

 

Leave a Reply

